All Manuals > LispWorks User Guide and Reference Manual > 12 Customization of LispWorks


12.4 Saved sessions

You can save a LispWorks session, which can be restarted at a later date. This allows you to resume work after restarting your computer.

Saving sessions is intended for users of the LispWorks IDE. The graphical tools described in LispWorks IDE User Guide provide the best way to use and configure session saving. However it is also possible to save a session programatically, which is described in this section.

When you save a session, LispWorks performs the following three steps:

  1. Closing all windows and stopping multiprocessing.
  2. Saving an image. On Mac OS X this creates an application bundle.
  3. Restarting the LispWorks IDE and all of its windows.

If a saved session is run later, then it will redo the last step above, but see What is saved and what is not saved for restrictions.

Sessions are stored on disk as LispWorks images, by default within your personal application support folder (the exact directory varies between operating systems).

12.4.1 The default session

12.4.2 What is saved and what is not saved

12.4.3 Saving a session programmatically

12.4.4 Saving a session using the IDE

LispWorks User Guide and Reference Manual - 21 Dec 2011