All Manuals > LispWorks User Guide and Reference Manual > 12 Customization of LispWorks > 12.4 Saved sessions


12.4.2 What is saved and what is not saved

All Lisp code and data that was loaded into the image or was created in it is saved. This includes all editor buffers, the Listener history and the value of * , ** and *** .

All threads are killed before saving, so any data that is accessible only through a mp:process , or by a dynamically bound variable, is not accessible.

All windows are closed, so any data that is accessible only within the windowing system is not accessible after saving a session.

The windows are automatically re-opened after saving the session and all Lisp data within the CAPI panes is retained.

External connections (including open files, sockets, database connections and COM interfaces) become invalid when the saved session is restarted. In the image from which the session was saved, the connections are not explicitly affected but if these connections are thread-specific, they will be affected because the thread is killed. In recreated Shell tools the command history is recovered but the side effects of those commands are not. Debugger and Stepper windows are not re-opened because they contain the state of threads that have been killed.

LispWorks User Guide and Reference Manual - 21 Dec 2011